CPC Faculty Fellows

The Carolina Population Center is a community of leading population scholars affiliated to promote population research, teaching, and faculty development at the university. The elected faculty fellows form the center's permanent and vital core. Many of the fellows have offices at the Center which is conveniently located adjacent to the main University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill campus. Most fellows participate in research projects administered through the CPC; all have a voice in decision making. The Center devotes its resources to facilitating their research and training needs.

Please select a fellow's name to view additional, biographical information for the respective individual.

Faculty Fellow Email Address Phone Number(s) Office(s) UNC-CH Department
Elizabeth Frankenberg,CPC Director e.frankenberg@unc.edu (919) 962-6092

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2173

Sociology
Linda S. Adair linda_adair@unc.edu (919) 962-6154

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2122

Nutrition
Allison Aiello aaiello@unc.edu 919 962-7029

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2200

McGavran-Greenberg, Room 2101-B

Epidemiology
Sandra Albrecht ssalb@live.unc.edu (919) 962-6150

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2110

Nutrition
Gustavo Angeles gustavo_angeles@unc.edu

(919) 962-5830

(919) 445-0412

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3153

Maternal and Child Health
Christy L. Avery Christy_avery@unc.edu (919) 966-4312 Epidemiology
Clare Barrington cbarring@email.unc.edu (919) 966-9009

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2196

Rosenau Hall, Room 317

Health Behavior
Margaret E. Bentley pbentley@unc.edu

(919) 962-6170

(919) 843-9962

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2109

Rosenau Hall, Room 124

Nutrition
Richard E. Bilsborrow richard_bilsborrow@unc.edu (919) 962-3639

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3102

Biostatistics; Adjunct Professor, Departments of City and Regional Planning, Economics and Geography, and Curriculum in Ecology
Shelah S. Bloom shelah_bloom@unc.edu (919) 445-0424

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3113E

Maternal and Child Health
Kenneth A. Bollen bollen@unc.edu (919) 962-7501

Davie Hall, Room 304

Psychology & Neuroscience and Dept of Sociology
Yong Cai caiyong@unc.edu (919) 962-5605

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3106

Hamilton Hall, Room 269

Sociology
Peter A. Coclanis coclanis@unc.edu (919) 843-5111

FedEx Global Education Center, Room 3012

History
Siân L. Curtis sian_curtis@unc.edu (919) 445-0434

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3121

Maternal and Child Health
Jason Davis jdavis36@live.unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2126H

Geography
Paul Delamater pld@email.unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2152

Geography
Glen H. Elder, Jr. glen_elder@unc.edu

(919) 962-4264

(919) 966-6660

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2193

Sociology
Michael E. Emch emch@unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2147

Geography
Barbara Entwisle entwisle@unc.edu (919) 962-6125

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2177

Sociology
Luca Flabbi lflabbi@email.unc.edu (919) 966-2385

Gardner Hall, Room CB 3305

Economics
Jane Cooley Fruehwirth jane_fruehwirth@unc.edu (919) 866-4886

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2146

Gardner Hall, Room 208A

Economics
Donna Gilleskie donna_gilleskie@unc.edu (919) 966-5372

Gardner Hall, Room 06B

Economics
Penny Gordon-Larsen pglarsen@unc.edu (919) 962-6110

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2123

Nutrition
Clark Gray cgray@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3876

Carolina Hall, Room 308

Geography
David K. Guilkey david_guilkey@unc.edu

(919) 962-6140

(919) 966-5335

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2111

Gardner Hall, Room 208C

Economics
Guang Guo guang_guo@unc.edu (919) 962-1246

Hamilton Hall, Room 216

Sociology
Jacqueline M. Hagan jhagan@unc.edu (919) 962-2327

Hamilton Hall, Room 206

Sociology
Carolyn Tucker Halpern carolyn_halpern@unc.edu (919) 962-6155

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2202

Maternal and Child Health
Sudhanshu (Ashu) Handa shanda@email.unc.edu (919) 843-0350

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3104

Abernethy Hall, Room 219A

Public Policy
Kathleen Mullan Harris kathie_harris@unc.edu (919) 962-6158

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2190

Hamilton Hall, Room 201

Sociology
Robert Hummer rhummer@email.unc.edu (919) 962-6134

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2201

Sociology
Jon M. Hussey jon_hussey@unc.edu (919) 962-6138

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2197

Rosenau Hall, Room 405

Maternal and Child Health
Mosi Ifatunji ifatunji@unc.edu Sociology
Pamela Jagger pjagger@unc.edu

(919) 962-6254

(919) 962-6848

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2143

Abernethy Hall, Room 219A

Public Policy
Arne L. Kalleberg arne_kalleberg@unc.edu (919) 962-0630

Hamilton Hall, Room 262

Sociology
Paul W. Leslie pwleslie@unc.edu

(919) 962-5300

(919) 962-1564

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3108

Alumni Hall, Room 301

Anthropology
Joanna “Asia” Maselko jmaselko@unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3107

Epidemiology
Phil Morgan pmorgan@unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2165F

Sociology
Ted Mouw tedmouw@email.unc.edu (919) 962-5602

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2150

Hamilton Hall, Room 263

Sociology
Shu Wen Ng shuwen@unc.edu (919) 962-6188

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2108

Nutrition
Andrew F. Olshan andy_olshan@unc.edu (919) 966-7424

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2104E

Epidemiology
Lisa D. Pearce ldpearce@unc.edu

(919) 962-6166

(919) 966-1450

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2102

Hamilton Hall, Room 266

Sociology
Anthony D. Perez adperez@unc.edu (919) 843-6560

Hamilton Hall, Room 208

Sociology
Krista M. Perreira perreira@email.unc.edu

(919) 962-6152

(919) 843-4505

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3122

MacNider Hall, Room 342B

Social Medicine
Klara Peter kpeter@unc.edu (919) 962-6131

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2151

Gardner Hall, Room 306C

Economics
Audrey E. Pettifor apettif@email.unc.edu (919) 966-7439

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3101

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2102

Epidemiology
Barry M. Popkin popkin@unc.edu (919) 962-6139

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2104

Nutrition
Liana Richardson liana_richardson@unc.edu (919) 962-6167 Sociology
Michele Rivkin-Fish mrfish@unc.edu (919) 962-3353

Alumni Hall, Room 301

Anthropology
Whitney Robinson whitney_robinson@unc.edu

(919) 962-6190

(919) 966-7940

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2104B

Epidemiology
Kavita Singh kavita_singh@unc.edu

(919) 445-9272

(919) 843-5920

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3154

Rosenau Hall, Room 429

Maternal and Child Health
Lindsey Smith Taillie taillie@unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2107

Nutrition
Ilene S. Speizer ilene_speizer@unc.edu (919) 962-3513

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3123

Maternal and Child Health
Jill R. Stewart jill.stewart@unc.edu (919) 966-7553

Michael Hooker Research Center, Room 1301

Environmental Sciences and Engineering
Chirayath M. Suchindran suchindran@unc.edu (919) 966-7258

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 3103

Biostatistics
James Thomas jim.thomas@unc.edu (919) 445-9314

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3173

Epidemiology
Amanda L. Thompson althomps@email.unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2106

Anthropology
John M. Thorp, Jr. john_thorp@med.unc.edu (919) 843-7851

Old Clinic Bldg, Room 5003

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Kat Tumlinson ktumlin@email.unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3103

Maternal and Child Health
Stephen J. Walsh swalsh@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3867

Carolina Hall, Room 318

Geography
Sharon S. Weir sharon_weir@unc.edu (919) 445-9325

123 W Franklin Street, Room 3110

Epidemiology
Katherine Weisshaar weisshaar@unc.edu (919) 962-1007

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2198

Hamilton Hall, Room 225

Sociology
Colin West ctw@email.unc.edu

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2174

Anthropology
Y. Claire Yang yangy@unc.edu

(919) 962-3624

(919) 966-5558

123 W Franklin Street, Room 2121

Hamilton Hall, Room 155

Sociology

64 fellows

Fellows Emeriti

Faculty Fellow Email Address Phone Number(s) Office(s) UNC-CH Department
John S. Akin john_akin@unc.edu Economics
Karl E. Bauman kbauman@mindspring.com Health Behavior and Health Education
Deborah E. Bender deborah_bender@unc.edu Health Policy and Management
Jane D. Brown jane_brown@unc.edu School of Media and Journalism
Betty E. Cogswell Family Medicine
Laurel A. Files Laurel_Files@unc.edu Health Policy and Management
Sagar C. Jain sagar_jain@unc.edu Health Policy and Management
William D. Kalsbeek bill_kalsbeek@unc.edu Biostatistics
John D. Kasarda john_kasarda@unc.edu Management & Sociology
Ronald R. Rindfuss ron_rindfuss@unc.edu Sociology
John F. Stewart jfstewar@email.unc.edu Economics
Vaida D. Thompson vaida_thompson@unc.edu Psychology & Neuroscience
Boone A. Turchi BOONE_TURCHI@UNC.EDU

(919) 962-5097

(919) 966-5348

Gardner Hall, Room 207

Economics
Peter R. Uhlenberg peter_uhlenberg@unc.edu Sociology
Paul R. Voss paul_voss@unc.edu Sociology

15 fellows emeriti

Wink Plone Theme by Quintagroup © 2013.

Personal tools
This is themeComment for Wink theme