Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

You are here: www.cpc.unc.edu People Faculty Fellows

CPC Faculty Fellows

The Carolina Population Center is a community of leading population scholars affiliated to promote population research, teaching, and faculty development at the university. The elected faculty fellows form the center's permanent and vital core. Many of the fellows have offices at the Center which is conveniently located adjacent to the main University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill campus. Most fellows participate in research projects administered through the CPC; all have a voice in decision making. The Center devotes its resources to facilitating their research and training needs.

Please select a fellow's name to view additional, biographical information for the respective individual.

Faculty Fellow Email Address Phone Number(s) Office(s) UNC-CH Department
Phil Morgan,
CPC Director
pmorgan@unc.edu (919) 966-1710

CPC East, Room 524-A

Sociology
Linda S. Adair linda_adair@unc.edu (919) 966-4449

CPC East, Room 405-F

Nutrition
John S. Akin john_akin@unc.edu (919) 843-9452

Gardner Hall, Room 108

Economics
Gustavo Angeles gustavo_angeles@unc.edu (919) 445-0412

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 307

Maternal and Child Development
Clare Barrington cbarring@email.unc.edu (919) 966-9009

Rosenau Hall, Room 317

Health Behavior and Health Education
Margaret E. Bentley pbentley@unc.edu

(919) 966-9575

(919) 843-9962

CPC East, Room 308-E

Rosenau Hall, Room 124

Nutrition
Richard E. Bilsborrow richard_bilsborrow@unc.edu (919) 966-1738

CPC East, Room 305-E

Biostatistics; Adjunct Professor, Departments of City and Regional Planning, Economics and Geography, and Curriculum in Ecology
Shelah S. Bloom shelah_bloom@unc.edu (919) 445-0424

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 323

Maternal and Child Health
Kenneth A. Bollen bollen@unc.edu (919) 962-7501

Hamilton Hall, Room 220

Sociology
Yong Cai caiyong@unc.edu (919) 962-5605

Hamilton Hall, Room 269

Sociology
Peter A. Coclanis coclanis@unc.edu (919) 843-5111

FedEx Global Education Center, Room 3012

History
Siân L. Curtis sian_curtis@unc.edu (919) 445-0434

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 310

Maternal and Child Health
Glen H. Elder, Jr. glen_elder@unc.edu

(919) 966-2831

(919) 966-6660

CPC East, Room 401-D

Sociology
Michael E. Emch emch@email.unc.edu (919) 966-2153

CPC West, Room 308-D

Geography
Barbara Entwisle entwisle@unc.edu

(919) 966-0338

(919) 962-1319

CPC East, Room 505

South Bldg, Room 312

Sociology
Penny Gordon-Larsen pglarsen@unc.edu (919) 843-9966

CPC East, Room 400-B

Nutrition
Clark Gray cgray@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3876

Saunders Hall, Room 308

Geography
David K. Guilkey david_guilkey@unc.edu

(919) 966-1733

(919) 966-5335

CPC East, Room 406-D

Gardner Hall, Room 208C

Economics
Guang Guo guang_guo@unc.edu (919) 962-1246

Hamilton Hall, Room 216

Sociology
Jacqueline M. Hagan jhagan@email.unc.edu (919) 962-2327

Hamilton Hall, Room 206

Sociology
Carolyn Tucker Halpern carolyn_halpern@unc.edu (919) 966-4462

CPC East, Room 204-B

Maternal and Child Health
Sudhanshu (Ashu) Handa shanda@email.unc.edu

(919) 966-2156

(919) 843-0350

CPC East, Room 512

Abernethy Hall, Room 219A

Public Policy
Kathleen Mullan Harris kathie_harris@unc.edu (919) 966-5560

CPC East, Room 403-D

Hamilton Hall, Room 201

Sociology
Amy H. Herring aherring@bios.unc.edu

(919) 966-9113

(919) 843-4450

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 3104

Biostatistics
Jon M. Hussey jon_hussey@unc.edu (919) 966-1731

CPC East, Room 401-C

Rosenau Hall, Room 405

Maternal and Child Health
Pamela Jagger pjagger@unc.edu (919) 962-6848

Abernethy Hall, Room 219A

Public Policy
James H. Johnson, Jr. jim_johnson@unc.edu (919) 962-8201 Management
Arne L. Kalleberg arne_kalleberg@unc.edu (919) 962-0630

Hamilton Hall, Room 262

Sociology
William D. Kalsbeek bill_kalsbeek@unc.edu (919) 962-3249

730 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Room 104

Biostatistics
John D. Kasarda john_kasarda@unc.edu (919) 962-8201

Kenan Center, Room 301

Management
Paul W. Leslie pwleslie@unc.edu

(919) 966-6165

(919) 843-8978

CPC West, Room 308-C

Alumni Hall, Room 301

Anthropology
Michelle Mendez mmendez@email.unc.edu (919) 843-6859

CPC East, Room 514

Nutrition
Ted Mouw tedmouw@email.unc.edu (919) 962-5602

Hamilton Hall, Room 263

Sociology
Shu Wen Ng shuwen@unc.edu (919) 843-4442

CPC East, Room 402-A

Nutrition
Andrew F. Olshan andy_olshan@unc.edu (919) 966-7424

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2104E

Epidemiology
Lisa D. Pearce ldpearce@email.unc.edu

(919) 966-7413

(919) 966-1450

CPC East, Room 522

Hamilton Hall, Room 204

Sociology
Anthony D. Perez adperez@email.unc.edu

(919) 962-4516

(919) 843-6560

CPC East, Room 208-G

Hamilton Hall, Room 208

Sociology
Krista M. Perreira perreira@email.unc.edu

(919) 966-9486

(919) 843-5009

CPC East, Room 204-C

Abernethy Hall, Room 201

Public Policy
Lauren Persha lpersha@email.unc.edu (919) 966-2154

CPC East, Room 501

Department of Geography / Curriculum for the Environment & Ecology
Klara Peter kpeter@unc.edu (919) 966-1723

CPC East, Room 509

Gardner Hall, Room 306C

Economics
Audrey E. Pettifor apettif@email.unc.edu (919) 966-7439

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2102

Epidemiology
Barry M. Popkin popkin@unc.edu (919) 966-1732

CPC East, Room 406-F

Nutrition
Liana Richardson ljrichar@email.unc.edu (919) 966-7481

CPC East, Room 507

Sociology
Ronald R. Rindfuss ron_rindfuss@unc.edu (919) 962-3532

308 Rosemary, Room 217

Sociology
Michele Rivkin-Fish mrfish@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3353

Alumni Hall, Room 301

Anthropology
Whitney Robinson whitneyr@email.unc.edu

(919) 843-4450

(919) 966-7940

CPC East, Room 513

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2104B

Epidemiology
Eleanor Seaton eseaton@email.unc.edu

(919) 843-5548

(919) 962-2998

Davie Hall, Room 208

Psychology
Anna Maria Siega-Riz am_siegariz@unc.edu (919) 962-8410

CPC East, Room 202-I

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2105A

Epidemiology
Kavita Singh kavita_singh@unc.edu

(919) 445-9272

(919) 843-5920

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 331

Rosenau Hall, Room 407C

Maternal and Child Health
Ilene S. Speizer ilene_speizer@unc.edu (919) 962-3513

308 Rosemary, Room 201

Maternal and Child Health
John F. Stewart jfstewar@email.unc.edu (919) 966-5345

Gardner Hall, Room 202

Economics
Chirayath M. Suchindran suchindran@unc.edu (919) 966-7258

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 3103

Biostatistics
Harsha Thirumurthy harsha@unc.edu (919) 966-0265

CPC East, Room 508

Health Policy and Management
James Thomas jim.thomas@unc.edu (919) 445-9314

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 330

Epidemiology
Amanda L. Thompson althomps@email.unc.edu (919) 843-6255

CPC East, Room 510

Anthropology
John M. Thorp, Jr. thorp@med.unc.edu (919) 843-7851

Old Clinic Bldg, Room 5003

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Boone A. Turchi boone_turchi@unc.edu

(919) 966-2837

(919) 966-5348

CPC East, Room 302-C

Gardner Hall, Room 207

Economics
Peter R. Uhlenberg peter_uhlenberg@unc.edu

(919) 966-7142

(919) 962-2398

Hamilton Hall, Room 219

Sociology
Paul R. Voss paul_voss@unc.edu (919) 962-0967

Manning Hall, Room 7A

Sociology
Stephen J. Walsh swalsh@email.unc.edu

(919) 962-1663

(919) 962-3867

FedEx Global Education Center, Room 4110

Saunders Hall, Room 318

Geography
Sharon S. Weir sharon_weir@unc.edu (919) 445-9325

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 324

Epidemiology
Colin West ctw@email.unc.edu (919) 962-4516

CPC East, Room 208-G

Anthropology
Y. Claire Yang yangy@unc.edu

(919) 843-4446

(919)966-5558

CPC East, Room 401-G

Hamilton Hall, Room 155

Sociology

63 fellows

Fellows Emeriti

Faculty Fellow Email Address Phone Number(s) Office(s) UNC-CH Department
Karl E. Bauman kbauman@mindspring.com Health Behavior and Health Education
Deborah E. Bender deborah_bender@unc.edu (919) 966-7392

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 1105B

Health Policy and Management
Jane D. Brown jane_brown@unc.edu (919) 962-4089

Carroll Hall, Room 360

Journalism and Mass Communication
Betty E. Cogswell betty_cogswell@unc.edu Family Medicine
Laurel A. Files laurel_files@unc.edu (919) 966-7353

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 1101B

Health Policy and Management
Jaroslav F. Hulka jhulka@unc.edu Obstetrics and Gynecology
Sagar C. Jain sagar_jain@unc.edu Health Policy and Management
Vaida D. Thompson vaida_thompson@unc.edu Psychology

8 fellows emeriti