Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

You are here: www.cpc.unc.edu People Faculty Fellows

CPC Faculty Fellows

The Carolina Population Center is a community of leading population scholars affiliated to promote population research, teaching, and faculty development at the university. The elected faculty fellows form the center's permanent and vital core. Many of the fellows have offices at the Center which is conveniently located adjacent to the main University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill campus. Most fellows participate in research projects administered through the CPC; all have a voice in decision making. The Center devotes its resources to facilitating their research and training needs.

Please select a fellow's name to view additional, biographical information for the respective individual.

Faculty Fellow Email Address Phone Number(s) Office(s) UNC-CH Department
Phil Morgan,
CPC Director
pmorgan@unc.edu 919-962-6180

206 W Franklin St, Room 221

Sociology
Linda S. Adair linda_adair@unc.edu 919-962-6154

137 E Franklin St, Room 6503

Nutrition
Allison Aiello aaiello@unc.edu 919-962-6223

137 E Franklin St, Room 6707

McGavran-Greenberg, Room 2101-B

Epidemiology
Sandra Albrecht ssalb@live.unc.edu 919-962-6150

137 E Franklin St, Room 6115

Nutrition
Gustavo Angeles gustavo_angeles@unc.edu

919-962-5830

(919) 445-0412

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 107A

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 307

Maternal and Child Development
Clare Barrington cbarring@email.unc.edu (919) 966-9009

Rosenau Hall, Room 317

Health Behavior and Health Education
Margaret E. Bentley pbentley@unc.edu

919-962-6170

(919) 843-9962

137 E Franklin St, Room 6117

Rosenau Hall, Room 124

Nutrition
Richard E. Bilsborrow richard_bilsborrow@unc.edu 919-962-3639

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 209

Biostatistics; Adjunct Professor, Departments of City and Regional Planning, Economics and Geography, and Curriculum in Ecology
Shelah S. Bloom shelah_bloom@unc.edu (919) 445-0424

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 323

Maternal and Child Health
Kenneth A. Bollen bollen@unc.edu (919) 962-7501

Hamilton Hall, Room 220

Sociology
Yong Cai caiyong@unc.edu (919) 962-5605

Hamilton Hall, Room 269

Sociology
Peter A. Coclanis coclanis@unc.edu (919) 843-5111

FedEx Global Education Center, Room 3012

History
Siân L. Curtis sian_curtis@unc.edu (919) 445-0434

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 310

Maternal and Child Health
Glen H. Elder, Jr. glen_elder@unc.edu

919-962-4264

(919) 966-6660

308 W Rosemary St, Room 221

Sociology
Michael E. Emch emch@email.unc.edu

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 303

Geography
Barbara Entwisle entwisle@unc.edu

919-962-6125

(919) 962-1319

206 W Franklin St, Room 239

South Bldg, Room 312

Sociology
Donna Gilleskie donna_gilleskie@unc.edu (919) 966-5372

137 E Franklin St, Room 6109

Gardner Hall, Room 06B

Economics
Penny Gordon-Larsen pglarsen@unc.edu 919-962-6110

137 E Franklin St, Room 6124

Nutrition
Clark Gray cgray@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3876

Saunders Hall, Room 308

Geography
David K. Guilkey david_guilkey@unc.edu

919-962-6140

(919) 966-5335

137 E Franklin St, Room 6107

Gardner Hall, Room 208C

Economics
Guang Guo guang_guo@unc.edu (919) 962-1246

Hamilton Hall, Room 216

Sociology
Jacqueline M. Hagan jhagan@email.unc.edu (919) 962-2327

Hamilton Hall, Room 206

Sociology
Carolyn Tucker Halpern carolyn_halpern@unc.edu 919-962-6155

206 W Franklin St, Room 281

Maternal and Child Health
Sudhanshu (Ashu) Handa shanda@email.unc.edu (919) 843-0350

Abernethy Hall, Room 219A

Public Policy
Kathleen Mullan Harris kathie_harris@unc.edu 919-962-6158

206 W Franklin St, Room 283

Hamilton Hall, Room 201

Sociology
Amy H. Herring aherring@bios.unc.edu

(919) 966-9113

(919) 843-4450

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 3104

Biostatistics
Jon M. Hussey jon_hussey@unc.edu 919-962-6138

206 W Franklin St, Room 205

Rosenau Hall, Room 405

Maternal and Child Health
Mosi Ifatunji ifatunji@unc.edu

137 E Franklin St, Room 6111

Sociology
Pamela Jagger pjagger@unc.edu (919) 962-6848

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 208

Abernethy Hall, Room 219A

Public Policy
James H. Johnson, Jr. jim_johnson@unc.edu (919) 962-8201 Management
Arne L. Kalleberg arne_kalleberg@unc.edu (919) 962-0630

Hamilton Hall, Room 262

Sociology
William D. Kalsbeek bill_kalsbeek@unc.edu (919) 962-3249

730 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Room 104

Biostatistics
John D. Kasarda john_kasarda@unc.edu (919) 962-8201

Kenan Center, Room 301

Management
Paul W. Leslie pwleslie@unc.edu

919-962-5300

(919) 843-8978

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 104

Alumni Hall, Room 301

Anthropology
Michelle Mendez mmendez@email.unc.edu 919-962-6101

137 E Franklin St, Room 6705

Nutrition
Ted Mouw tedmouw@email.unc.edu (919) 962-5602

Hamilton Hall, Room 263

Sociology
Shu Wen Ng shuwen@unc.edu 919-962-6188

137 E Franklin St, Room 6506

Nutrition
Andrew F. Olshan andy_olshan@unc.edu (919) 966-7424

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2104E

Epidemiology
Lisa D. Pearce ldpearce@email.unc.edu

919-962-6166

(919) 966-1450

137 E Franklin St, Room 6321

Hamilton Hall, Room 266

Sociology
Anthony D. Perez adperez@email.unc.edu (919) 843-6560

206 W Franklin St, Room 232

Hamilton Hall, Room 208

Sociology
Krista M. Perreira perreira@email.unc.edu

919-962-6152

(919) 843-5009

137 E Franklin St, Room 6315

Abernethy Hall, Room 201

Public Policy
Lauren Persha lpersha@email.unc.edu 919-962-3641

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 305

Department of Geography / Curriculum for the Environment & Ecology
Klara Peter kpeter@unc.edu 919-962-6131

137 E Franklin St, Room 6317

Gardner Hall, Room 306C

Economics
Audrey E. Pettifor apettif@email.unc.edu (919) 966-7439

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2102

Epidemiology
Barry M. Popkin popkin@unc.edu 919-962-6139

137 E Franklin St, Room 6305

Nutrition
Liana Richardson ljrichar@email.unc.edu 919-962-6167

206 W Franklin St, Room 213

Sociology
Ronald R. Rindfuss ron_rindfuss@unc.edu (919) 962-3532

308 W Rosemary St, Room 217

Sociology
Michele Rivkin-Fish mrfish@email.unc.edu (919) 962-3353

Alumni Hall, Room 301

Anthropology
Whitney Robinson whitneyr@email.unc.edu

919-962-6190

(919) 966-7940

137 E Franklin St, Room 6119

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2104B

Epidemiology
Michael Shanahan mjshan@email.unc.edu Sociology
Anna Maria Siega-Riz am_siegariz@unc.edu

919-962-6120

(919) 962-8410

137 E Franklin St, Room 6603

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 2105A

Epidemiology
Kavita Singh kavita_singh@unc.edu

(919) 445-9272

(919) 843-5920

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 331

Rosenau Hall, Room 407C

Maternal and Child Health
Ilene S. Speizer ilene_speizer@unc.edu (919) 962-3513

308 W Rosemary St, Room 201

Maternal and Child Health
John F. Stewart jfstewar@email.unc.edu (919) 966-5345

Gardner Hall, Room 202

Economics
Chirayath M. Suchindran suchindran@unc.edu (919) 966-7258

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 3103

Biostatistics
Harsha Thirumurthy harsha@unc.edu 919-962-2703

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 106

Health Policy and Management
James Thomas jim.thomas@unc.edu (919) 445-9314

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 330

Epidemiology
Amanda L. Thompson althomps@email.unc.edu

137 E Franklin St, Room 6123

Anthropology
John M. Thorp, Jr. thorp@med.unc.edu (919) 843-7851

Old Clinic Bldg, Room 5003

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Boone A. Turchi boone_turchi@unc.edu

919-962-5097

(919) 966-5348

137 E Franklin St, Room 6313

Gardner Hall, Room 207

Economics
Paul R. Voss paul_voss@unc.edu (919) 962-0967

Manning Hall, Room 7A

Sociology
Stephen J. Walsh swalsh@email.unc.edu

(919) 962-1663

(919) 962-3867

FedEx Global Education Center, Room 4110

Saunders Hall, Room 318

Geography
Sharon S. Weir sharon_weir@unc.edu (919) 445-9325

400 Meadowmont Village Circle, 3rd Floor, Room 324

Epidemiology
Colin West ctw@email.unc.edu

211 W Cameron Ave, Room 304

Anthropology
Y. Claire Yang yangy@unc.edu

919-962-3624

(919)966-5558

308 W Rosemary St, Room 219

Hamilton Hall, Room 155

Sociology

65 fellows

Fellows Emeriti

Faculty Fellow Email Address Phone Number(s) Office(s) UNC-CH Department
John S. Akin john_akin@unc.edu (919) 843-9452

Gardner Hall, Room 108

Economics
Karl E. Bauman kbauman@mindspring.com Health Behavior and Health Education
Deborah E. Bender deborah_bender@unc.edu (919) 966-7392

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 1105B

Health Policy and Management
Jane D. Brown jane_brown@unc.edu (919) 962-4089

Carroll Hall, Room 360

Journalism and Mass Communication
Betty E. Cogswell betty_cogswell@unc.edu Family Medicine
Laurel A. Files laurel_files@unc.edu (919) 966-7353

McGavran-Greenberg Hall, Room 1101B

Health Policy and Management
Jaroslav F. Hulka jhulka@unc.edu Obstetrics and Gynecology
Sagar C. Jain sagar_jain@unc.edu Health Policy and Management
Vaida D. Thompson vaida_thompson@unc.edu Psychology
Peter R. Uhlenberg peter_uhlenberg@unc.edu

(919) 966-7142

(919) 962-2398

Hamilton Hall, Room 219

Sociology

10 fellows emeriti